9 PDP lawmakers dump the party for APC in Imo

Nine lawmakers of the Imo State House of Assembly, have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

This is coming a few minutes after the Deputy Speaker of the House, Okey Onyekanma, resigned his position.

According to Vanguard, the defection saga started around 15:30 pm when the Speaker of the House, read the letters of the decampees at the floor of the House.

The reason for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lawmakers’ defection to APC was not clearly stated.

This is coming at a time where PDP members took to the streets of Nigeria protesting the supreme judgment which nullified the election of PDP candidate Emeka Ihedioha.

Some protesters led by the National Chairman of PDP, Uche Secondus, Peter Obi on Monday led a protest against the supreme court judgment which sacked Emeka Ihedioha as the governor of Imo state.

The protest, which started at the PDP’s Legacy House to the Three Arms Zone, was led by the PDP National Chairman, Mr. Uche Secondus.

Subscribe to our newsletter for latest news and updates. You can disable anytime.