Senators: we won’t change our opinion of Saraki


A group of senators yesterday expressed support for embattled Senate President Bukola Saraki in his ongoing trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT).

In a statement signed by Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Danbaba (Sokoto South) on behalf of others, the lawmakers said the trial was mischievous, vindictive and politically-motivated.

The statement said: “We also want to state here, on behalf of our colleagues, that the Senate remains solidly behind Senator Saraki and we express our unalloyed support for his leadership.

“We are happy that he appeared at the Tribunal after availing himself of the opportunity to defend his Fundamental Human Rights.

“We reiterate the fact that he is our choice for the post of Senate President and no politically motivated, mischievous and vindictive trial will change our opinion of him.

“By his appearance at the Tribunal, he has demonstrated his firm belief in the rule of law and his respect for our judicial process. We join Dr. Saraki in affirming our commitment to the rule of law, constitutionalism and democracy.

“We only hope the other arms of government will ensure that due process and procedures are followed in this trial and on all other issues.

“It is our belief that at the end of this trial, our democracy, Nigerians and the people will end up as the beneficiaries”.

They also restated commitment to the programmes and policies of the Buhari administration.

Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu led 29 other senators to the CCT in solidarity with the Senate President.

Some supporters of the embattled Senate President, including placard-carrying women group, were also on hand at the CCB to show solidarity to Saraki.

Senators at the CCT are: Amori Ighoyota (Delta Central), Bassey Albert Akpan (Akwa North East) Abdulrahman Abubakar (Kogi East),Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo Central),Kabiru Gaya (Kano Central),Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta North), Aliyu Wamako (Sokoto North), Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara North) and Theodore Orji (Abia Central).

Others are Senators Ben Murray-Bruce (Bayelsa East) Emmanuel Paulker (Bayelsa Central), Ogola Foster (Bayelsa West) Mao Ohuabunwa (Abia North), Gilbert Nnaji (Enugu East) Rose Oko (Cross River North), Sam Egwu (Ebonyi North), Olaka Nwogu (Rivers South East), Samuel Anyanwu (Imo East), Sunny Ogbuoji (Ebonyi South), Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger East), Isa Hamma Missau (Bauchi  Central), Obinna Ogba (Ebonyi  Central) Kaura Tijjani (Famfara North), Clifford Ordia ( Edo Central), Mohammed Ohiare (Kogi Central) Ibrahim Adullahi Dambaba, Rafui Ibrahim (Kwara South),Gershom Henry Bassey (Cross River South) and Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto South).

The women took over the road leading to the tribunal singing the praises of the Senate President.

Another grouped that styled itself Northern Youth Assembly Bukola supporters were also at the tribunal

The placard-bearing supporters described the trial of Saraki as politically motivated.

Some of the placards read “Leave Bukola alone, No Bukola no Nigeria, Bukola is a leader”.

The Nation news – culled from:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here