Senate Approves Extension of Emergency Rule in Three Northern States


The Nigerian Senate yesterday approved the extension of the emergency rule in Adamawa, Borno and Yobe States, as requested by President Goodluck Jonathan.

The State of Emergency was declared on May 14, 2013 by President Jonathan following the extreme violence and incidences of killings and destruction of properties by the Islamic sect  Boko Haram in those States.

The State of Emergency according to the Constitution can only last for a specified period of six months, after which a request for extension will be sent to the National Assembly if there is need for an extension.

The Senators unanimously voted in support of the extension in a plenary section of the House on Thursday November 7, 2013,

However, the House of Representatives is still to debate on the requested extension of the emergency rule sent to the house by President Jonathan,

The emergency rule, if extended will last for another six months in the affected states, starting from November 2013.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here