Nigeria may face Algeria, Ghana or Cote d’Ivoire

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the seedings for the World Cup 2018 qualifying draw scheduled to hold on June 24, with Nigeria, Egypt, Cape Verde, Congo DR and Mali all included in Pot Two.

African champions, Cote d’Ivoire, are named among the top seeds, along with 2014 Fifa World Cup quarterfinalists, Tunisia, Ghana and Senegal.

Cameroun, Morocco, Guinea, South Africa and Congo are confirmed in Pot Three, while Uganda, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Gabon and Libya find themselves in Pot Four.

With this, the Super Eagles are likely to face Algeria, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire or Senegal as they hope to secure their sixth World Cup ticket.

The seedings for the Third Round ties, to be held on June 24 in Cairo, were determined based on a special edition of the Fifa World Rankings released on Wednesday to allow the inclusion of the results of the African Cup of Nations qualification games played between June 3 to 5, 2016.

The 20 teams will be drawn into five groups of four teams to play home-and-away round-robin matches with the winners of each group picking a ticket for the 2018 Fifa World Cup in Russia.

This round of qualification will be played from October 3 2016 to November 14 2017.

POTS in full
Pot 1: Algeria, Cöte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Senegal and Tunisia
Pot 2: Cape Verde, Egypt, Congo DR, Nigeria and Mali
Pot 3: Cameroon, Morocco, Guinea, South Africa and Congo
Pot 4: Uganda, Burkina Faso, Zambia, Gabon and Libya

Culled from:

Leave a Comment

The News Chronicle