Anambra guber: Soludo, Ex-SSG, 4 others disqualified


Ahead of the November governorship election in Anambra State, the Alhaji Tayo Sowunmi, Ifeanyi Mbaeri (Secretary) and Chief Onwuka Ukwa (member) led screening panel of the All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA, has disqualified former Central Bank Governor, Professor Charles Soludo, former SSG in Peter Obi’s government, Chief Oseloka Obaze, Emmanuel Nweke, Ogbuefi Tony Nnacheta, Barrister Chinedu Idigo and Dr. Chike Obidigbo from contesting the election under its fold.

In a statement signed by the chairman of the Gubernatorial Screening Panel, Alhaji Tayo Sowunmi, Ifeanyi Mbaeri (Secretary) and Chief Onwuka Ukwa (member), the panel said “the reasons for the non-clearance of the unsuccessful aspirants are as contained in the provisional certificates issued to them.”

Out of the 13 aspirants contesting under the party, only seven scaled through the screening exercise which took place between August 15 and 16, 2013 at the party’s national secretariat in Abuja.

The Party’s aspirants who were cleared by the panel  included former Minister of Transport, John Okechukwu Emeka, member of the House of Representatives Uche Ekwunife, John Nwosu, Emmanuel Nwogbo, Paul Odenigbo, Chief Willie Obiano and Patrick Obianwu.

The appeal panel will  re- sit today in order to give the disqualified candidates the opportunity to appeal the decision of the screening panel.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here