57 reps, endorse New PDP


Following the polarization of the peoples’ Democratic Party, PDP, fifty-seven out of the 204 members of the House of Representatives have endorsed the emergence of Alhaji Kawu Baraje-led New PDP.

The 57 lawmakers in a statement issued by Ali-Ahmed from Kwara State and made available to newsmen in Abuja, on Tuesday reads:

 “We, the members of the House of Representatives under the platform of the New PDP, hereby congratulate our leaders on the emergence of the new party:

“Although a sizeable number of our members who could not append their signatures because of their unavailability in the country will do so immediately on arrival, we the under signed salute and appreciate the courage, sacrifice and resilience and patriotism of our leaders namely: former Vice President Atiku Abubakar GCON, and the Governors of Kano State, Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso; Aliyu Wamakko, (Sokoto); Murtala Nyako (Adamawa); Sule Lamido (Jigawa); Dr. Muazu Babangida Aliyu (Niger); Abdul Fattah Ahmed (Kwara); and Chibuike Amaechi (Rivers), and other well-meaning and eminent Nigerians for leading the way for the emergence of the New PDP.

 “As members of the House of Representatives, we call on the security agencies and other anti-graft bodies to be professional in their activities and not allow themselves be used by anybody no matter how highly placed for their political ambitions. Remember how you want history to judge your tenures.

“We won’t hesitate however to use all instruments of law within our powers as provided by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended), to stop this and bring anybody found wanting to book.

“We wish to state that by this statement, we pledge our loyalty and support to the New PDP under the able chairmanship of Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje, the Deputy Chairman, Dr Sam Sam Jaja, National secretary, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinola and other members of the National Executive Committee.

“We congratulate them and wish them the very best as they steer the affairs of our party to provide level playing-field for all Nigerians.”

Those who signed the statement include Abdullahi Balarabe, Abdulmumin Jibrin, Ali Ahmad, Abdullahi Wamako, Abdullahi Muhammed, Rico Abdulmalik Cheche, Adamu Bashir,Ahmanpatigi Aliyu, Ahmed Zerewa, Aishatu Binani, Aiyedun Olayinka and Alhassan Ado Garba.

In another development, the Abubakar Baraje led new Peoples Democratic Party has called on the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to deregister the Bamanga -led People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

This was contained in a suit filed by a group, the PDP Stakeholders Forum, at the  Federal High Court in Abuja,  seeking the nullification of PDP  mini- convention  and the sacking  of  Tukur on the basis that  “the national chairman was not a bonafide member of the PDP that is capable of being elected into the office he currently occupies”.

Speaking to news men in Abuja, the Chairman of the forum, Chief Ikenga Ugochinyere,  said: “We insist that this act of brazen criminality must not go unpunished. The perpetrators of this heinous crime against the party and the law of the land should be arrested and charged to court.

“Tukur is ab-initio not a bonafide member of the PDP that is capable of being elected into the office he currently occupies. Alhaji  Tukur was expelled by the National Executive Committee of the party after being indicted for “high level anti-party activities” alongside five others in May 31, 2001.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here