27 PDP lawmakers defect to APC in Sokoto


Another blow to the Peoples Democratic Party has occurred. Twenty-seven members of the party in Sokoto State have defected to the All Progressives Congress. The defectors are members of the Sokoto State House of Assembly.

Only three PDP members of the Assembly remain in the party. They are Bala Musa, representing Yabo, Mustapha Hurumi representing Bodinga South and Gatau Mustapha representing Isa constituency all in Sokoto.

The Speaker of the Sokoto State House of Assembly, Alhaji Lawalli Zayyana announced the defection of the members. The defectors in a celebratory mood brought out brooms to show solidarity with the APC.

It is important to mention that the Governor of Sokoto State, Aliyu Wamakko and his supporters had earlier defected to the APC while his deputy, Alhaji Mukhtari Shagari still remained staunchly in the PDP.

However, the relationship between the governor and his deputy has remained cordial despite their belonging to different political parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here